What is the major structure of the midbrain?

What is the major structure of the midbrain?

The midbrain is formed by three main structures: the cerebral peduncle (peduncle meaning ‘foot’ or ‘base’ of the cerebrum), the corpora quadrigemina (meaning ‘quadruplet bodies’ since it has four mound or hill-like structures), and the cerebral aqueduct, which is a canal dividing the two structures.

What is the order of midbrain?

It is composed of four sections in descending order: the diencephalon, midbrain, pons, and medulla oblongata.

How many lobes are there in midbrain?

Midbrain (Mesencephalon) There are three parts to the midbrain: the colliculi, the tegmentum, and the cerebral peduncles.

Is pons part of midbrain?

The pons (from Latin pons, “bridge”) is part of the brainstem that in humans and other bipeds lies inferior to the midbrain, superior to the medulla oblongata and anterior to the cerebellum.

What are the 3 main divisions of the brain?

The brain is composed of 3 main structural divisions: the cerebrum, the brainstem, and the cerebellum (see the images below). At the base of the brain is the brainstem, which extends from the upper cervical spinal cord to the diencephalon of the cerebrum.

Where is medulla located?

Your medulla oblongata is the bottom-most part of your brain. Its location means it’s where your brain and spinal cord connect, making it a key conduit for nerve signals to and from your body. It also helps control vital processes like your heartbeat, breathing and blood pressure.

What are the 4 sections of the brain?

Each brain hemisphere (parts of the cerebrum) has four sections, called lobes: frontal, parietal, temporal and occipital. Each lobe controls specific functions.

Where are the pons located?

Your pons is the second-lowest section of your brainstem, just above your medulla oblongata. It forms a key connection between your brain above it and your medulla oblongata and spinal cord below it.

What are the 4 main regions of the brain?