Who is the present King of Lagos?

Who is the present King of Lagos?

Oba Rilwan Akiolu
Rilwan Babatunde Osuolale Aremu Akiolu (born 29 October 1943) is the incumbent traditional Oba of Lagos….Rilwan Akiolu.

Oba Rilwan Akiolu
Assumed office 9 August 2003
Preceded by Adeyinka Oyekan
Personal details

Who is first Oba of Lagos?


Title: Ashipa: the first Oba of Lagos
Year: 1969
Periodical: Nigeria Magazine
Issue: 103
Pages: 624-627

How many Oba are in Lagos State?

”Between June 2020 and March 2021, the ministry, through the Chieftaincy Department, has successfully installed 18 obas (traditional rulers). ”Of these 18 Obas; five are first class and 13 are second class Obas.

Who is the highest Oba in Lagos?

Oba Babatunde Aremu Akiolu –
Oba Babatunde Aremu Akiolu – The Oba of Lagos He is the Oba of Lagos and one of the traditional rulers in Nigeria who cannot be overlooked. Of course, he is one of the richest kings in Nigeria. The wealthy king had bagged his LL.

Who is the second Oba of Lagos?

Oba Ado
Oba Ado (original Bini name was Edo) who reigned from 1630-1669 was the second Oba of Lagos. He was son of Ashipa, whom the Oba of Benin appointed as the first ruler of Eko. Ado’s son, Gabaro was the third Oba of Lagos.

Which king is the most respected in Nigeria?

Alaafin of Oyo Beyond a king with numerous wives, is the Alaafin of Oyo, a monarch who is highly revered in all of Yorubaland. The position of the Alaafin of Oyo is one of the most powerful and influential monarchical titles to be attained in Nigeria.

Where are Awori from?

Traditionally, the Awori people are found in Ogun State and Lagos State, Nigeria. Towns including Ado-Odo, Isheri, Ota, Igbesa, Agbara, Ilobi, Tigbo are all Awori settlements within today’s Ogun State (created 1976) in Nigeria.

Who is number one king in Yorubaland?

1. Ooni of Ife. The Ooni of Ife is the most respected and powerful king in Yoruba land. this Ooni of Ife is Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi.

Which tribe owns Lagos state?

The Territories of the Awori are a part of Nigeria inhabited by the Awori tribe sub-ethnic group of the Yoruba people, speaking a distinct dialect of the Yoruba language. Traditionally, Awori are found in two Nigerian States: Ogun and Lagos.

Who is the Oba of Lagos?

The Oba is a ceremonial Yoruba sovereign with no political power, but is sought as a counsel or sponsor by politicians who seek support from the residents of Lagos, the financial heart of Nigeria and the largest city in Africa.

How did Lagos get rid of Oba Kosoko?

The defeat of Oba Kosoko by British forces on December 28, 1851, in what is now known as the Bombardment of Lagos or Reduction of Lagos, or locally as Ogun Ahoyaya or Ogun Agidingbi (after boiling cannons), put an end to Lagos’ s former allegiance to the Oba of Benin.

Who is the Governor of Lagos State?

Lagos State 1 Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu ( APC) 2 Deputy Governor Kadiri Hamzat ( APC) 3 Senators Oluremi Tinubu (APC) Solomon Olamilekan Adeola (APC) Tokunbo Abiru (APC) 4 Representatives List 5 Chief Judge Opeyemi Oke Area 6 Total 9,113,605 7 Rank 1st of 36 8 Density 2,500/km 2 (6,600/sq mi) GDP 9 Year 2014 10 Per capita

What does Lagos State mean?

lagosstate.gov.ng. Lagos, sometimes referred to as Lagos State to distinguish it from Lagos Metropolitan Area, is a state in the southwestern geopolitical zone of Nigeria. The smallest in area of Nigeria’s 36 states, Lagos State is arguably the most economically important state of the country, containing Lagos, the nation’s largest urban area.