What is the Paul Bunyan Trophy?

What is the Paul Bunyan Trophy?

The Paul Bunyan This trophy is awarded to either the Michigan State Spartans and the Michigan Wolverines. The winner retains possession of the trophy until the next year’s game. The naming of the trophy after the mythical giant lumberjack Paul Bunyan, who reflects Michigan’s history as a major lumber-producing state.

Why is it called the Paul Bunyan Trophy?

The Spartans currently hold the trophy after an upset victory over the Wolverines last season on Halloween. The trophy is known officially as the Paul Bunyan – Governor of Michigan Trophy. According to the University of Michigan, it was first presented in 1953 in the game between the Wolverines and Spartans.

Is Jalen Nailor fast?

Nailor brings a definite speed element coveted at the next level. He has a 4.39 40-yard dash on record and could go on to eclipse that at the NFL 2022 NFL Combine. His speed allows him to stack defensive backs and get separation downfield, as well as extend short passes and explode into space.

Why is the Paul Bunyan trophy in Michigan?

The tale of how the Paul Bunyan Trophy came to signify one team’s dominance over the other starts in 1953 when the Michigan governor at the time introduced it as an offering to Michigan State University, who entered the conference that year. “Celebrate your win with this wooden statue of a fictional lumberjack!” Gov.

How many times has Michigan won the Paul Bunyan trophy?

Although Michigan has won the trophy 35 times, besting Michigan State’s 23 wins, the Spartans won the first Bunyan Trophy game. There have been two ties between the teams since 1953. The trophy is currently in Ann Arbor.

Who won the AXE last year?

Gophers reclaim Paul Bunyan’s Axe with 23-13 win over Wisconsin – Twin Cities.

Is Michigan State better than Michigan?

While U of M generally receives higher rankings, it also has a much lower acceptance rate. With its higher acceptance rate, MSU may be a better choice for those who want to study at a tier-one school but do not have the grades to enter an exclusive institution.