Who rules Iran now?

Who rules Iran now?

The current president of Iran is Ebrahim Raisi, who assumed office on 3 August 2021, after the 2021 presidential election. He succeeded Hassan Rouhani, who served 8 years in office from 2013 to 2021.

Who is the religious leader of Iran?

Sayyid Ali Hosseini Khamenei (Persian: سید علی حسینی خامنه‌ای, pronounced [ʔæˈliː hosejˈniː xɒːmeneˈʔiː] ( listen); born 19 April 1939) is a Twelver Shia Marja’ and the second and current supreme leader of Iran, in office since 1989.

Is Twitter banned in Iran?

In some cases, governments and other authorities take unilateral action to block Internet access to Twitter or its content. As of February 2022, the governments of China, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan have blocked access to Twitter.

What are the qualifications to be president of Iran?

Qualifications and election. The procedures for presidential election and all other elections in Iran are outlined by the Supreme Leader. The President of Iran is elected for a four-year term in a national election by universal adult suffrage for everyone of at least 18 years of age.

Who is in charge of the Iranian government?

The current lifetime officeholder, Ali Khamenei, has issued decrees and made the final decisions on the economy, the environment, foreign policy, education, national planning, and other aspects of governance in Iran.

Who is the current president of Iran?

Ebrahim Raisi is the current president, being elected in the June 2021 presidential election . The Council of the Islamic Revolution deputised during the interim (3 December 1979 – 4 February 1980).

What did the first president of Iran do?

The first president, Abolhassan Bani-Sadr, sought control of the government apparatus. But he faced fierce opposition from the clerical party, even as he dealt with revolutionary turmoil, the American hostage crisis and the Iran-Iraq War. He was impeached during his second year in office.