What year did Michael Jordan win Slam dunk Contest?

What year did Michael Jordan win Slam dunk Contest?

Michael Jordan and Dominique Wilkins reminisce about the 1988 dunk contest. NBA.com takes a look back at the top moments that define the history of the NBA.

How many times did Jordan win the Slam dunk Contest?

Five players have won two Slam Dunk Contests The first multi-time winner was Michael Jordan. After losing to Dominique Wilkins in a thrilling final round two years prior, His Airness was named top dunker for the 1987 contest in Seattle.

Who won the first ever dunk contest?

Larry Nance
The Dunk Contest has provided with plenty of classic moments during its history. The NBA’s first dunk contest occurred in 1976-77, but the format was a season-long event. It became a stand-alone event during All-Star Weekend in 1984, and Larry Nance was the first ever winner in this format.

Who won last dunk contest?

Obi Toppin
CLEVELAND — Obi Toppin was the top dunker Saturday at NBA All-Star Weekend. The New York Knicks forward went through the legs, tapped the ball off the backboard and finished with a one-handed slam to score a 47 on his final dunk and win the NBA Slam Dunk Contest.

Did Michael Jordan lose a dunk contest?

It’s all about being a showman.” It’s for that reason the former Hawks star doesn’t begrudge losing to Jordan in 1988 at Chicago Stadium, a classic showdown that remains the subject of debate. “No matter what, the fans got their money’s worth,” Wilkins said. “It was all about laying it on the line.

Who won the 2007 Slam Dunk Contest?

Gerald Green
NBA Slam Dunk Contest champions

Year Host city Player
2006 Houston Nate Robinson
2007 Las Vegas Gerald Green
2008 New Orleans Dwight Howard
2009 Phoenix Nate Robinson

Who won dunk of the year 2022?

Toppin received a score of 45 on his first dunk in the third round. After struggling to complete an in-between-the legs on two attempts, Toppin threw the ball off the backboard and slammed home an in-between-the-legs dunk. Toppin and Toscano-Anderson each received scores of 44 in the first round.

What is the best dunk in NBA history?

1) J. Cole catches lob from Kevin Hart (2012) 2) Gianmarco Tamberi’s tipjam (2022) 3) Terrell Owens puts throws one down (2008)

How many times did Michael Jordan win the dunk contest?

Did MJ ever win the dunk contest? While Robinson is the only NBA player to win the competition three times, there are five men who have been victorious twice: Dominique Wilkins (1985 and 1990), Michael Jordan (1987 and 1988), Harold Miner (1993 and 1995), Jason Richardson (2002 and 2003) and Zack LaVine (2015 and 2016).

Who was the winner of the dunk contest?

You know you grew up to school to to. Dallas-area legend Spud Webb was the shortest man to ever win the NBA’s Slam Dunk Contest. Now his #4 is retired at his alma mater. Author: wfaa.com.

When is Slam Dunk Contest?

When: Saturday, Feb. 19 Closing out the night is the main event, the Dunk Contest, which has produced some of the most iconic moments in NBA history. This one is as simple as it gets. You try to do the sickest dunk possible, and the five judges score your effort on a scale of 1-10, which makes a maximum of 50 points available.