What is Washington state Initiative 594?

What is Washington state Initiative 594?

Ballot Title 594 concerns background checks for firearm sales and transfers. Concise Description: This measure would apply currently used criminal and public safety background checks by licensed dealers to all firearm sales and transfers, including gun show and online sales, with specific exceptions.

How long does a background check take for a gun in Washington state?

10 days
NICS checks can take anywhere from a few minutes to a few days. If a determination is not obtained within three business days, then the transfer may legally be completed. Washington allows 10 days to complete a background check on a prospective handgun purchaser prior to delivery of the handgun.

How long before a convicted felon can own a gun in Washington state?

In Washington State, anyone who has been convicted of a felony or any crime of domestic violence is ineligible to possess a firearm. This ban will last a lifetime, unless the right is restored by a court of record (typically the Superior Court where the individual resides).

What disqualifies you from owning a gun in Washington state?

Some of the most common examples of what disqualifies you from owning a gun are: Any felony conviction. A finding of ‘not guilty’ by reason of insanity. Involuntary commitment to a mental health facility.

What disqualifies you from owning a gun in Washington State?

Can a felon hunt in Washington State?

A. If the felon has had his/her rights restored through the court of sentencing, yes the felon may use a muzzleloader to hunt. If the felon has NOT had his/her rights restored through the court, then the felon may NOT possess a pistol, shotgun, muzzleloader, or other firearm.

Can I buy a gun with a DUI in Washington state?

State law in Washington is silent on prohibition of a firearm for a person convicted of misdemeanor DUI. Only convicted DUI felons need be concerned about owning or possessing a gun, and the law is very simple on that issue. They can’t own or possess a firearm.

What is a Class B felony in Washington state?

Class B and Class C make up the majority of felony offenses. Class B felonies are often charged for crimes such as theft of $5,000+ worth of property, manslaughter, or sexual assault. Class C felonies often follow third degree assault offenses.

Can I carry a shotgun in my car Washington state?

An unloaded handgun kept in a vehicle must be locked within the vehicle and concealed from view. Washington generally prohibits the possession or transportation of a loaded rifle or shotgun in or on a motor vehicle.

Can a felon own a pellet gun in the state of Washington?

**Felons are prohibited by both Washington state and federal law from possessing firearms. **Federal law also prohibits felons from possessing ammunition.

Can you open carry a sword in Washington State?

RCW (9.41. 270) says it’s unlawful for anyone to carry any firearm, dagger, sword, or any other weapon that can cause bodily harm with the intent to intimidate others or threatens their safety. In other words, the length of the knife is irrelevant. If you have the intent to cause harm, it’s illegal.

How long to get concealed weapons permit Washington?

You will be issued a CPL in approximately 30 days if you have a valid Washington driver’s license. If you don’t have a license, you must wait approximately 90 days.

What misdemeanors disqualify you from owning a gun in Washington state?

Domestic Violence This is what disqualifies you from owning a gun. Due to the frequent use of firearms in situations of domestic violence, not only to kill but also to threaten and maim, Washington law considers any misdemeanor domestic violence conviction to be serious enough to cause you to lose your gun rights.

Can a Class B felony be expunged in Washington State?

If your conviction is for a class B felony, you must wait ten years from when you were sentenced, released from confinement, or released from Department of Corrections supervision, whichever happened last. You must also have no convictions of any kind in the immediate ten years prior to applying for expungement.